Two Ways

Passive Meditation:

Sitting quietly focusing on slow, quiet, deep breathing.  Being aware of the wondering mind and body sensations returning focus to the rhythm of the breathing process.

Active Meditation:

Sitting quietly beginning with slow, deep breathing.  Using various methods like affirmations, mantras, visualizations, symbols, energy centers, directing the flow of energy and various breathing practices. 

Passive meditation is a pathway to profound insight and the transformative experience ordinary magnificence.  Active meditation is a path of intentional creation and awakening of cosmic forces.  The risk of active meditation is deluding oneself that a created experience is the Ultimate.  The risk of passive meditation is making it a thinking, intellectual process.  

Author: David

I have practiced various Meditative Arts since I was 18 years old. My career was in the mental health field. I retired from my position of Social Work Director at a large state psychiatric hospital in 2016. Reflections is a way for me to express my inner thoughts and experiences.

Leave a comment